I have been careful as I resume my diet.
I wanted to know if all dairy bothered me, or possibly one of the main protein fractions in milk, whey.
An experiment today has shown me that whey certainly does bother me. Whey contains two of the main milk proteins. (I had whey that had no lactose with it, as pure powder, carbohydrate-free.) Now I can see whether or not I can eat hard cheeses, which have hardly any whey in them. That would make my diet a bit easier if I can. They do contain casein, another milk protein, so if I am sensitive to that, then I can’t have any cheese. They have very little lactose. I don’t know if it could be lactose that bothers me as well or not, but that’s also something I could test.
Pickles don’t bother me, though! :)