Sponsored Links

Battle For Justice

www.amazon.com/     Buy battle for justice at Amazon! Free Shipping on Qualified Orders.

funchilde is improving. daily.

fight for social justice (read all 12 entries…)
My letter to editor was published!

I wrote a letter to my local paper, and sent letters to my congressman, 2 senators and 5 local reps. It was nice to get an email back, a phone call and to see my words in the paper with almost no editing! I’m very proud.

Same-sex marriage in the United States is not recognized by the federal government, but such marriages are recognized by some individual states. The lack of federal recognition was codified in 1996 by the Defense of Marriage Act, before Massachusetts became the first state to grant marriage licenses to same-sex couples in 2004. Such licenses are granted by six states: Connecticut, Iowa, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New York, and Vermont, plus Washington, D.C. and Oregon’s Coquille and Washington state’s Suquamish Indian tribes. The states of Washington1 and Maryland have passed laws to begin granting same-sex marriage licenses during 2012, but each may be delayed or derailed by November 2012 voter referenda.



I want to:
43 Things Login