She's Awake! in Montreal is doing 38 things including…

To learn and practice Buddhism as a way toward helping others.

11 cheers


Sponsored Links

Visit Our Buddhist Temple     Sun Apr 27th @ 2pm Intro Mtg What is Buddhist Concept of Karma?

Women: Reclaim Your Power     Learn 7 steps women must follow to reclaim their half of the universe.

How To Practice Buddhism     Compare and search for how to practice buddhism

Learn Buddhist Meditation     Authentic, scriptural training Instant download of video training

Buddha - Dharma -Buddhism     Buddhist Sutra Kindness Compassion Wisdom Education Vegetarian Peace

How To Practise Buddhism     Search for How To Practise Buddhism Look Up Quick Results Now!

She's Awake! has written 7 entries about this goal

Helping others?

How about helping myself? Being all zen has not done very much for me in certain circumstances. How about this: get the hell away from the people and things that dis-serve me and make me unhappy; get uppity and protest and move on it, rather than accept them and love them as they are and continue to change nothing while I put up with it?

Maybe I can revisit this goal from a place when things have changed under the weight and force of my pushing them to move the way I want them to.

Change comes from within, as the hotdog vendor said to the Buddhist monk. Seen I think on DanaDanaDana’s feed…

Should this stay or should it go?

I don’t have time to practice per se. But I keep precepts in mind whenever I can.

Time to restart my 15-minute lunchtime meditations – those lunches I’m not at the gym, following up on my fitness goals.

The eight-fold path

Sila is morality — abstaining from unwholesome deeds of body and speech. Within the division of sila are three parts of the Noble Eightfold Path:

  1. Right Speech — One speaks in a non hurtful, not exaggerated, truthful way (samyag-vāc, sammā-vācā)
  2. Right Actions — Wholesome action, avoiding action that would do harm (samyak-karmānta, sammā-kammanta)
  3. Right Livelihood — One’s way of livelihood does not harm in any way oneself or others; directly or indirectly (samyag-ājīva, sammā-ājīva)

Samadhi is developing mastery over one’s own mind. Within this division are another three parts of the Noble Eightfold Path:

  1. Right Effort/Exercise — One makes an effort to improve (samyag-vyāyāma, sammā-vāyāma)
  2. Right Mindfulness/Awareness — Mental ability to see things for what they are with clear consciousness (samyak-smṛti, sammā-sati)
  3. Right Concentration/Meditation — Being aware of the present reality within oneself, without any craving or aversion. (samyak-samādhi, sammā-samādhi)

Prajñā is the wisdom which purifies the mind. Within this division fall two more parts of the Noble Eightfold Path:

  1. Right Understanding — Understanding reality as it is, not just as it appears to be. (samyag-dṛṣṭi, sammā-diṭṭhi)
  2. Right Thoughts — Change in the pattern of thinking. (samyak-saṃkalpa, sammā-saṅkappa)

Go here now - before Saturday

And download “Teaching your brain to be happy.”

Pass it on.

Facebook has a Zen Buddhist group

I learned from it already. This is entirely taken from the group’s description:

Zen is a branch of Mahayana (“Greater Wheel”) Buddhism which strongly emphasizes the practice of moment-by-moment awareness and of ‘seeing deeply into the nature of things’ by direct experience. The establishment of the Zen school of Buddhism is traditionally attributed to Bodhidharma in sixth century China.

Zen is the radical approach to Buddhism. Historically, Zen arose as a Buddhist sect resulting from a blend of Taoism and Buddhism. Zen developed in China in the sixth century of the common era when Indian Buddhist missionaries encountered Taoists. Zen spread to Japan via China and Korea in the twelfth and thirteenth centuries, and from Japan to the West at the beginning of the twentieth century.

Zen offers a way of experiencing life directly.

“Zen points directly to the human heart, see into your nature and become Buddha”
Hakuin Ekaku (1685-1768)

To be an actual Zen Buddhist, one has to take refuge in the Three Jewels, like any other Buddhist. This means formally declaring to take refuge in Buddha (teacher and lineage), Dharma (teachings) and sangha (the community of Buddhist monks or more widely: the community of Buddhists).

Then there are the Ten Grave Precepts:

1. Affirm life; do not kill.
2. Be giving; do not steal.
3. Honor the body; do not misuse sexual energy.
4. Manifest truth; do not lie.
5. Proceed clearly; do not cloud the mind.
6. See the perfection; do not speak of others’ errors and faults.
7. Realize self and other as one; do not elevate the self and blame others.
8. Give generously; do not be stingy.
9. Actualize harmony; do not give vent to anger.
10. Experience the intimacy of things; do not defile the Three Treasures.

These can be taken literally, and should be taken literally (at first). Later they should also be realized on a deeper level.

a much better day

I met a man at school who I take a course with and it turns out he knows R. He works with him at the Faculty of Law. So he got to hear a side of R that he didn’t know, and I got to hear a side I didn’t know. Go figure! He’s domineering and aggressive with everyone!

I so wish R happiness and absence of suffering. But until he respects the causes of happiness and avoids the causes of suffering, he will have a little trouble.

Today is Buddha's birthday.

Or, Prince Siddhartha (probably spelled wrong) was born perhaps today in India a very long time ago.

I’ve been dabbling in Buddhism through my Zen class for six months now, but this past week I have been reading Creating Compassion (right title?), which has taught me a lot more about it. I have decided I am going to meditate daily again (see other goal), but add reading regularly about Buddhism, and really practice hard to manage my anger (less a problem with anger, which is present but I have worked on a lot last year; now it’s exaggerated moods that are the problem) and show compassion as much as I possibly can.

She's Awake! has gotten 11 cheers on this goal.


I want to:
43 Things Login