Dear 43 Things Users,

10 years after introducing 43 Things to the world, we have decided we have met our last goal: completing the incredible experience that has been 43 Things. Please join us in giving one last cheer to all the folks who have shared their goals with the world, as well as all the people who have worked at The Robot Co-op to build this incredible website. We won a Webby Award, published a book, and brought happiness to a lot of people.

Starting today, 43 Things users can export their goals and entries from the site. Starting August 15, we will make the site “read only”. 43 Things users will still be able to view the site and export their content, but we won’t be taking any new content from users. We hope to leave the site up for folks to see and download their content until the end of the year. Ending on New Year’s Eve takes us full circle.

It has been a long ride (one of our original goals was to "build a company that lasts at least 2 years” - we beat that one!) While we wish the site could live on, it has suffered from a number of challenges - changes in how people use the site, the advertising industry, and how search engines view the site. We wish the outcome was different – but we’ve always been realistic about when our goals are met and when they aren't.

As of today, you will be able to download your goals and entries. See more about that on the FAQ page. Thanks for 10 great years of goal-setting and achieving.

- The Robots.

Export My Content
FAQ
16,491 people want to do this. 52 people have this New Year's resolution.

Save money


 

People doing this

See everyone

Recent activity

user1408636996 1 week ago


princessellamicky 1 week ago


AlexaZ 2 weeks ago


Nikita JOURDAIN 2 weeks ago


Suzanne Woodrow 3 years ago


RachelJuly Summary

This month I spent $1,579.43, made $47.29, and got a $1500 refund. (Technically I have another paycheck from the 29th, but since I didn’t have direct deposit set up yet, I haven’t gotten it.)

$44 – non-food groceries
$216 – groceries
$36 – food out
$36 – alcohol
$525 – rent/bills
$30 – bus fare
$23 – meds

$276 – work/interview clothes
$110 – running shoes
$106 – other clothes/sunglasses
$78 – bike stuff
$25 – office supplies

$25 – entertainment
$26 – warrior dash
$15 – donations
$9 – misc

Savings is at $1500. CC balances are at $1,738.25. Available credit is around $1900. IRA balance (reserve) is around $800.

I’m trying to decide if I should transfer the ~$200 off a store card and onto one of my other cards, because the interest rate is way higher. On the other hand, I can use my other card for other stuff, and I may need it.

Those running shoes really hurt, but so did my knees & shins. I’d been using barefoot shoes, but I was running on surfaces made for running then, and now where I live, everything is paved.

Coming up:
No more clothes thankfully, unless I get an office job and need a few more things for that. If I get a job though, that doesn’t count.
Probably going to drop a lot of money on housing applications over the next couple of weeks, and then on a deposit of course.
It looks like my bike is only going to need one more $30 part, which is sweet. So I’ll have paid all of $30 for this bike, my second free bike from my roommates. They’re the best.
My rent will almost certainly be going up after I move, or at least the utilities will (everything’s included right now). I’m aiming for $500-$600, since that’s all I make at my current job. 3 weeks ago


PinkandGoldRibbon 4 weeks ago


Luckylove3 4 weeks ago


kitcat1990House

Start saving in order to buy my own flat before I’m 30 4 weeks ago


kitcat1990Save up<£800 for 01.2015

Make sure I have over£800 all together in all of my bank accounts 4 weeks ago


kitcat1990New account

Open a savings account with Lloyds bank 4 weeks ago


kitcat1990 4 weeks ago


MeRossyNot too shabby

I got a promotion! So I’m making slightly more money than I was before. Because I was so busy with the new job, I was able to save over 80% of my salary last contract, which is incredible. Now I just need to save some on vacation! 4 weeks ago


agoodsoul74 4 weeks ago


Sparkle830 1 month ago


Geridisco 1 month ago


Rimoon 1 month ago


Cookie0909 13 months ago


fishyfish 1 month ago


tessharper 1 month ago


flaviamannheimer 1 month ago


kirstie_chanel 1 month ago


Porshannna26 1 month ago


yogagal1Return merchandise that is not good w/t receipt

The only way to do this is to return the $40 worth of terrible food and sweat-shirt that I bought. I have receipts. Go for it.! 1 month ago


user1404540856 1 month ago


yogagal1$1800 Month's Credit bill

I have to look at mint.com immediately and see what happened here. I pulled money out of my savings to pay for it. :( 1 month ago


saadallah 1 month ago


Danielle Archer 1 month ago


saadallahBuy a House

Buy a House 1 month ago


RachelJune Summary

Some not-great things have been happening with my money lately, which has been hard to track. But I think I got a handle on June here.

This month I made $0.00 and spent $1,959.22.
(May I made $60 and spent $2,721.57.)

$75 – non-food groceries
$243 – groceries
$123 – food out
$67 – alcohol
$493 – rent/bills
$88 – bus fare
$20 – meds

$55 – costco membership
$220 – eye doctor/glasses
$139 – dentist
$10 – stamps

$172 – clothing/purse
$94 – gifts
$61 – entertainment
$85 – warrior dash registration
$11 – misc. house stuff
$5 – library fine

Savings is (nominally) at $700 – my credit card balance is $727.89.

Right, so this is the first time I have ever carried a credit card balance. But, as you can see, I am super broke, and I need to be able to pay my rent next month.

Most of this is pretty self-evident. I actually can’t believe I spent that much on bus fare, although I just re-loaded my card and haven’t actually used much of it yet.

So… going out. Originally I was just going to visit, and although it would still be a little ridiculous to spend so much, I was leaving for a job and wouldn’t be paying rent and so on. And it’s hard, all of my friends here have good jobs and they go out a lot. But as of late, I’ve just been getting food with Boy and smoking with him rather than going out to a bar (all of which he pays for).

Oh right. I live here. And I needed some interview clothes. I still need a lot more, for work and for nicer interviews, but some of that will have to wait a bit.

I’ve been waiting forever to go to the dentist and get new glasses, and since I was originally going to be leaving out of the country, I scheduled appointments for them this month. Once it was determined that I was not going to be leaving, I debated canceling them, but I needed both so badly that I just went through with it.

Costco membership was because they have a mail-order pharmacy, which I was going to try to take advantage of abroad. But now it’s just a waste of money, and as far as filling my prescriptions here, they charge me and Walmart never did. (I don’t want to go to Walmart though. I have to see if there’s somewhere else that will take them.)

Gifts was… well, less than half of it was host gifts for two friends who let me crash with them, and the rest was more getting something that a friend couldn’t get, and paying for it in cash since she only had a card on her. So she’ll either pay me back or buy me something later. (I’m hoping for her just paying me back.)

I have a part-time job in a store now, starting this week. It’ll only cover my rent and not much else, but it’s a start. I also have to get back to the WT people and ask about money, so I may have another $1500 there. They’re kind of shitty though, so maybe I won’t.

(I should also add that that $1500 was actually originally from my IRA, but desperate times call for desperate measures. It won’t be going back there just yet.) 1 month ago


See more:   Entries  |  How I Did It Entries  |  Questions


 

I want to:
43 Things Login