Because this is the first time I’ve received this sort of art scam I wanted to post it here so everyone out there can be a little more aware. Today I received an email from a very eager buyer looking to furnish a new home in Johannesburg. They had arranged shipping would be paying me via certified US money order.
Oh gee! That’s thrilling! Not really. It’s a scam.
Here’s the exact email sent to me:
“HI,
I saw some lovely and creative artworks on your site and i will like to buy it for our new house in Johannesburg.I will like buy
Out Sick,Waking Up Alone and Butterfly IV
Pls send me the price excluding the shipping price because i have already contacted a shipping company that will be shipping our other home decors.Pls get back if they are still in stock so i can arrange something with my husband ontime .I will be paying you with a Certified Us Postal Money Order. An urgent reply we be appreciated.Thanks.
Regards,”
As you can see there are a few typos and such peppered throughout already red flagging the email as suspect. I recalled reading warnings about people looking to buy work from Africa and such. I hopped onto the internet and found a few identical lines from my message listed on message boards all over the UK.
For more information on the scam and what to look for, visit the following link:
http://www.art.state.mt.us/artists/artists_alert.asp
Don’t get caught up in the thrill before you investigate the legitimacy of the inquiry. The scam evidently works by them sending you a counterfeit money order and then only a day after your receipt of it they request the money back due to some sort of emergency. You send them a refund because you are sympathetic to the emergency, a few days later their check to you comes up as fraudulent and you’re out the cash and potentially the artwork if you have already shipped it.